Why So Alone?

Video Posted on Updated on

Have you ever felt like no matter where you are your invisible to everyone else; so alone.  Now that I think about it, right now I’m reading a book called Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison. What I don’t understand is why do we have those lonely days, where we feel as though no one wants us; sometimes they can last longer than just one day–at least for me they do.  I don’t know if you’ve noticed but whatever I’m feeling one day, I attribute that emotion to a genre of music. People have asked me, “What’s your favorite type of music to listen to?”  I replied–and will always reply–that it depends on my mood of a certain day that attributes to what I feel like listening to. I’ve had days where I’m so overpowered by a genre of music that I will immediately start to look around for instruments that I can play on to imagine myself being really good at them; to appease my emotional cravings. It’s those moments where I know what music really is and what it does to a person who lets them self be the music. When I listen to music I am never alone because it tells me that there is someone else who feels the same way as I do. Even then, I still wish that I could share my love and appreciation for music with a friend that I can count on.

I do feel alone most of the time. At school there isn’t anyone who goes to look for me to spend time with me. I see others that have best friends that never leave their side; together no matter what. When I was in middle school I had a best friend, Max Underwood, and he was the one person that ever treated me like a true friend. When we became freshman in high school we lost communication, breaking our touch. However, I welcome loneliness, without it I wouldn’t be able to practice my trumpet with concentration or study for AP Classes. With these professional goals on my mind consuming all my time, they distract me from my physical solitude. This song is another one of a collection of Jazz songs by the great Michael Bublé that speaks from the heart.

Leave a Reply

