Rise

Video Posted on Updated on

Recently, at the beginning of this school year as well, I have been through what seems like a computer hard drive! I feel this way because at school I do so much, I’m involved in so much that nothing really gets done. No matter how much fun marching band is, sometimes it feels like a waste of time due to the mounds of homework, tests, SAT, family time and applications that I need to work on and study for to prepare myself for college.  It feels like I am the hard drive while my teachers are the programmers shoving formulas, subjects, languages, theory, politics, and literature into my head that I need time to back it up. Not too long ago I started a jazz band called Operation Jazz, which is a small group; I like it like that. When I was searching up possible songs that we could practice I found one in particular that made me feel hopeful that even though in the present life might not be the best, it will blossom into something great. I remember one of my friends tell me once that “in order for the arrow to go forward first it must be pulled back”. The song is called Rise by Herb Alpert, a jazz trumpet soloist. Just as Hamlet is feeling blue about the death of his father, in the beginning of the play, I am feeling down about my packed life.

2 thoughts on “Rise

    tyatertle said:
    November 14, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    I really like the bass in the beginning of the song. It’s like the instrument that ties the whole piece together. Other than that, I love the trumpet solo! Emmanuel, we have to play this, it seems like a hopeful-like piece. And Emmanuel, you’ll get through it all. In the near future, instead of things that are forced to be packed into our heads, it’ll be knowledge that we definitely want to learn. And thats the exciting part about college ! You can do this. Only about 6 months left. Class of 2014 , oh yeah !

      nlel responded:
      November 20, 2013 at 4:36 am

      Thanks Tiana but, as much as I love and hate high school I don’t really want it to end because I don’t feel ready to take on the approaching big responsibilities that I will have to manage. I am a responsible person and all but this time I don’t feel prepared.I don’t know, I just got to give it my all 100% of the time.

Leave a Reply

